Mechanisms 13th Trilateral Culture Ministers Meeting 2022.08.26

On August 26, 2022, Deputy Secretary-General SAKATA Natsuko attended the 13th Trilateral Culture Ministers Meeting (TCMM) as an observer. Mr. HU Heping, Minister of Culture and Tourism of China lead the virtual meeting, with Mrs. NAGAOKA Keiko, Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology of Japan and Mr. PARK Bo-gyoon, Minister of Culture, Sports and Tourism of the ROK in attendance.

During the meeting, the three ministers acknowledged the successes of past cultural cooperation, and reaffirmed to empower the platform for cultural exchange utilizing leading technology for further dialogue. In the ‘Qufu Declaration’, the three ministers agreed to promote cultural exchange in the following six aspects: 1) Practical cooperation among cultural and art sectors, 2) Strengthening cooperation for protecting cultural heritage, 3) Deepening cooperation for the development of cultural industries, 4) Promoting youth exchange and cooperation in various fields, 5) Promoting the merge of culture and tourism, and culture and sports, 6) Branding of the Cultural Cities of East Asia (CCEA).

In the following CCEA Award Ceremony, Chengdu City and Meizhou City (China), Shizuoka Prefecture (Japan) and Jeonju City (ROK) were designated as the 2023 CCEAs. The 14th TCMM will be hosted next year by the ROK.

▲Group Photo

▲Designation of 2023 CCEAs